The Final of 2009

In the space of seven years Butlersbridge were back in their third Junior Championship final. Phelim Plunkett was again back at the helm as team manager and his selectors Ollie Henry, Paddy McGovern and Michael Cryan had worked very hard with this team to try to get a third Championship in the same decade. Club chairman Michael Mulvey and club captain Michael Fitzpatrick were confident that this team could deliver. Final day was the 27th of September in Kingspan Breiffni Park, and this time the opposition was Swanlinbar – a big strong physical team allied to a lot of skill. The first fifteen minutes were evenly contested but goals from Sennin Flanagan and Martin Fitzpatrick gave the ‘Bridge the edge at half time. This gave the team the confidence to play some brilliant football in the second half and Swanlinbar had no answer to the wave of ‘Bridge attacks. The Sean Leddy Cup was on its way to the ‘Bridge for a record third time in seven years. No doubt Sean was smiling from on high.